bird tickets

available now

Key speakers from past Science Impact events include:

Dr. Annette Schmidtmann

Head of Department for Scientific Affairs, German Research Foundation (DFG)

Dr. Annette Schmidtmann is Head of Department for Scientific Affairs and has been a research manager for 25 years with different responsibilities (life sciences, graduate training, research careers) at the German Research Foundation (DFG) in Bonn and other institutions. The DFG is the self-governing organization for science and research in Germany serving all branches of science and the humanities with a total annual budget of about €3.1 billion, coming from both federal and state governments. In 2015, the DFG funded over 30,000 new and ongoing projects, one third of them being accounted for in the department.

Prof. Cobie Rudd, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Partnerships) and Vice-President at Edith Cowan University

Prof. Cobie J Rudd

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Partnerships), Edith Cowan University

Professor Cobie Rudd is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Partnerships) and Vice-President at Edith Cowan University (ECU). She leads gender equity in academia for ECU including as part of the first pilot of the Athena SWAN Charter in Australia. She has provided leadership for a range of national capacity-building and research projects aimed at addressing the challenges of providing skilled, inter-professional and sustainable workforces and in 2011, she was one of five National Teaching Fellows appointed by the Australian Government. She has held a range of senior policy research and advisory roles for both state and commonwealth governments and served on 13 boards of governance.

Jesper Werdelin Simonsen

Executive Director, Research Council of Norway

Dr. Jesper Werdelin Simonsen is Executive Director at the Research Council of Norway, where he oversees research funding in the areas of health, welfare, education and society, as well as development research and international bilateral cooperation. Simonsen is also currently member Norway’s Committee for Gender Balance and Diversity in Research. Before coming to the Research Council, Simonsen worked for 14 years as researcher and research manager in the field of agricultural research. From 1997 to 2000 he served as State Secretary at the Norwegian Ministry of Environment.

Petra Jantzer

Managing Director and European Lead for Accelerated R&D Services (ARDS), Accenture

Petra is a Managing Director and the European Lead for Accenture’s Accelerated R&D Services (ARDS). Petra is highly committed to helping women succeed on their professional paths. She joined recently from McKinsey & Company, where she led McKinsey’s gender diversity efforts in Switzerland for more than a decade. Furthermore, she was a co-founder of the “Advance – women in Swiss business” Association and served as the Vice President of the Board since its inauguration. Advance is a cross-company and cross-industry Association of 60+ mostly blue chip companies in Switzerland the common goal of increasing the share of women in business leadership roles. Advance served as the blueprint for “Chefsache”, a similar initiative in Germany sponsored by Chancellor Merkel.

Tom Rudin

Director, Board on Higher Education & Workforce, National Academy of Sciences

Tom Rudin is the director of the Board on Higher Education and Workforce (BHEW) at the National Academy of Sciences—a position he assumed in mid-August 2014.  BHEW provides government, academic and industry leaders with analyses and recommendations designed to inform action and public policy on issues in higher education and the workforce.

Dr. Bonnie Wolff-Boenisch

Head of Research Affairs, Science Europe

Dr Bonnie Wolff-Boenisch leads the Research Affairs Unit of Science Europe, a Brussels-based organisation, representing 47 Research Funding Organisations and Research Institutes from 27 countries. Among her tasks it to provide strategic leadership to the Scientific Advisory Committee made up of 30 experienced multidisciplinary scientists who give independent advice to Science Europe on key European research policy topics and on the implications of EU legislative and regulatory developments for research.

Dr. Katrien Maes

Chief Policy Officer, League of European Research Universities (LERU)

Dr. Katrien Maes is chief policy officer at the League of European Research Universities. Katrien has been with LERU since 2004 and is responsible for policy development across all areas of LERU’s research and higher education related activities, from research funding, management and assessment, to research careers, doctoral training, professional development, gender issues and more. She is an expert in EU research policies and programmes such as ERA and Horizon 2020.

Dr. Cara Tannenbaum

Scientific Director of the Institute of Gender and Health, Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Dr. Cara Tannenbaum is the Scientific Director of the Institute of Gender and Health for the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. Dr. Tannenbaum is a Professor of Medicine and Pharmacy at the Université de Montreal, where she holds the Michel Saucier Endowed Chair in Geriatric Pharmacology, Health and Aging. She was awarded the May Cohen Gender Equity Award by the Association of Medical Faculties of Canada, the Betty Haven’s Knowledge Transfer Prize by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the 2015 Y Women of Distinction Award in Health.